| August 31st, 2016

Our gluten free products include our yogurts and our Sweet-Potato Pecan vegan tamales, which are made with NO wheat, rye, barley or oats.

Some people are so sensitive to gluten they have a reaction to glutamines, an amino acid component of gluten, and glutamates, which are a salt form of glutamines used in flavor enhancers such as MSG. These amino acids are found in almost all grains and legumes including corn and soybeans and many vegetables. These amino acids even show up in cow’s milk because of the grain fed to the cattle. Even our gluten free products could cause an allergic reaction in those with this degree of sensitivity.

Although our facility also produces some food products made with ingredients that contain gluten (such as our vegan Wheat Roast and No-Meata Fajitas), we use an independent lab, Silliker, Inc., to test our products. All of our gluten free products show less than 5 ppm (parts per million) gluten, which is 1/4 the FDA maximum (20 ppm) for a gluten-free designation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *